Waterman Hall of Fame 2023

We are seeking nominations for the Wrightsville Beach Museum Waterman Hall of Fame Class of 2023.

The Waterman Hall of Fame is intended to be a lasting tribute for the achievements of the generations of local residents that have shaped this community and its relationship with the water. This award was created to reflect the importance of community spirit and personal contributions to the culture of water sports and professions throughout the history of the Cape Fear Region. The Hall of Fame honors the values exhibited by the best of those who have made the Cape Fear Region’s ocean and marshes their home. We wish to celebrate men and women exemplifying the best of the local coastal communities in their character, demeanor, and spirit both in competition and in their respect and/or contributions to the community.

The Waterman Hall of Fame awards are selected by the Waterman Hall of Fame Board composed of members of the Wrightsville Beach Museum Board of Directors and community participants who represent a cross-section of those who have been a part of the local water sports community throughout the decades. There will be an emphasis on diversity of generations and sports within the Hall of Fame.

Deadline for submissions is October 2, 2023. 

The class of inductees will be announced on October 13, 2023.

The Celebration and Inductions will be held November 12, 2023 at Waterman’s Brewing Company.

We will select up to 5 inductees from the following categories for the 2023 Induction year:

Ocean Rescue

Diving Swimming


Paddle Sports – Recognizes the people in our community that have helped establish Wrightsville Beach as East Coast’s premier location for the rapidly growing sports of paddle boarding, paddle surfing and Outrigger Canoe Racing.

Ohana/Group – Honoring families and/or groups that have had a tremendous impact on our beach communities. These can be families that have operated water related businesses over the course of several generations that have had a positive impact on our area; families that have had an impact or success in watersports; or a formal group of individuals that have helped establish or grow watersports in the Cape Fear Region.

The Inductees should adhere to and/or reflect at least one of the following criteria:

Pioneer – Based on achieving fame as respected watermen/women or pioneers in the time before major championships; candidates must have reached the age of fifty years old or are deceased.

Champions – Must have held National Championship and/or National-Class event titles Cultural Contributor – Must have helped elevate the beach culture in their local community by enhancing the lives of the individuals and the community though their good works

Local Hero – Resided for at least 10 years in the Cape Fear Region and were noted for their competitive success or were instrumental in the creation or continuation of watersports in the region

Special Recognition – The Special Recognition was created to honor those individuals who have contributed to waterman activities and its culture and can demonstrate roots in the Cape Fear Region.


Nomination forms will be accepted electronically by google form or email to INFO@WBMUSEUMOFHISTORY.COM.

Hard copies of forms sent by postal mail or dropped off in person to the museum by October 2, 2023.

Online Form

PDF Form

Postal Mail Address:

Wrightsville Beach Museum
PO Box 584
Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480

  • 00


  • 00


  • 00


  • 00



Nov 12 2023


4:00 pm - 7:00 pm
QR Code